> home > Neuroscience Events > Toronto Brain Bee > 13th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2011

13th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2011

13th Annual Toronto Brain Bee

The 13th Annual Toronto Brain Bee competition took place at the Medical Sciences Building, on March 25, 2011. There were a record 62 students from 16 high schools in the Toronto area who participated in the competition. Between the first and second rounds of questions, the students visited the Anatomy museum at the Division of Anatomy, watched the video of 2010 National Brain Bee event, and listened to short research presentations from five graduate students.

Following three rounds of questions the top three winners were:

First place: Soohyun Park from University of Toronto Schools
Second place; Jessica Zung from University of Toronto Schools
Third place: David Kim from Sinclair Secondary School

The first place winner Soohyun will represent Toronto at the 4th Annual CIHR Canadian National Brain Bee competition (www.brainbee.ca), which will take place at McMaster University in Hamilton on May 28, 2011.

The 2011 Brain Bee competition  was sponsored by the University of Toronto Neuroscience Program, the Department of Physiology and the Firefly Foundation. The students were welcomed by Professor Jonathan Dostrovsky (on behalf of UTNP), Professor Stephen Matthews (Chair, Department of Physiology) and Ms Sharon Zillmer (Program Manager, Firefly Foundation).

The event was organized by the following 6 faculty members and 22 graduate students.

The faculty members are Drs. Zhong-Ping Feng (Physiology, Toronto Brain Bee coordinator), Jonathan Dostrovsky (Physiology, past-Toronto Brain Bee coordinator), Isabelle Aubert (Laboratory Medicine and Pathology), Morgan Barense (Psychology), Michelle Arnot (Pharmacology), and Hong-Shuo Sun (Anatomy, Surgery/Physiology).

The graduate students are Mila Aleksic (Prep Course coordinator), Sakina.Rizvi (Prep Course coordinator), Tom Lu, Jason Lam, Christine Bae, Yi Quan, Amanda Gao, Shira Rosenzweig, Nasrin Nejatbakhsh, Jessica Jordao, Ewelina Maliszewska-Cyna, Paul Nagy, Emmanual Thevenot, Meghan Sauve, Meredith Kuipers, Massimo Tarulli, Brooke Acton, Aimee Caron, Emma Duerden, Joanna Soczynska, Kathy Li, and Andrew Barszczyk.

Special thanks go to Maureen Peng, Interim UTNP coordinator, for her help with organizing the Brain Bee.