> home > Neuroscience Events > Toronto Brain Bee > 10th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2008

10th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2008

The Collaborative Program in Neuroscience (PIN) hosted the 10th annual neuroscience competition for High School students on Wednesday afternoon, February 20, 2008. Twenty-seven students from 10 different Toronto schools took part in this oral competition modeled after a "spelling bee". The first place winner was Jeremy Zung from the University of Toronto Schools.   Second place went to Ling Sang, from William Lyon Mackenzie C.I., and in third place was Simon Feng from A.Y. Jackson C.I.  The winner of our local contest, Jeremy Zung, will take part in the 1st Canadian National Brain Bee competition which will take place at McMaster University in Hamilton on May 10 where the winners from other local University-sponsored competitions in Canada will be participating. The winner of the Canadian Brain Bee will then compete at the International Brain Bee competition which will take place in Montreal May 25-26 in association with the annual meeting of the Canadian Association for Neuroscience.  In the 9 year history of the IBB, three U of T brain bee winners also won first place in the IBB.

The U of T competition is organized by Professor Jonathan Dostrovsky, Director of PIN with the help of PIN faculty member Dr. Karen Davis. Many thanks go to PIN graduate students Maha Adamo (Psychology), Udi Blankstein (IMS), Leigh Botly (Psychology), Zenya Brown (Psychology), Jerry Yeou-Wei Chen (IMS), Sarah Johnson (Psychology), Massieh Moayedi (IMS), Bechara Saab (Molecular and Medical Genetics), Vishan Sivagnanam (Physiology) and Alex Weber (Physiology) for assisting with the Bee.

Special thanks to Leigh Botly, Sarah Johnson and Alex Weber for giving presentations on their research. Also, thanks to Dr. Pat Stewart for giving the students a very memorable tour of the Anatomy Museum. Special thanks go to Pat Reed, PIN program administrator, for her administration of the Brain Bee.