> home > Neuroscience Events > Toronto Brain Bee > 11th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2009

11th Annual Toronto Brain Bee 2009

The University of Toronto Neuroscience Program (UTNP) hosted the 11th annual neuroscience competition for high school students during the afternoon of Friday, March 27, 2009. Twenty-six students from 10 different Toronto secondary schools took part in this oral competition modeled after a "spelling bee". The first place winner was Sean Amodeo from the York Memorial Collegiate Institute. Second place went to Jason Kwok, and third place to Josh Budman, both from University of Toronto Schools. The winner of our local contest, Sean Amodeo, will take part in the Second Annual CIHR Canadian National Brain Bee competition (www.brainbee.ca) which will take place at McMaster University in Hamilton on May 29-30, 2009 where the winners from other local University-sponsored competitions in Canada will be participating. The winner of the Canadian Brain Bee will then compete at the International Brain Bee Competition (www.internationalbrainbee.com) which will be held in association with the American Psychological Association's Convention in Toronto, Canada August 7th-9th, 2009. In the 10 year history of the IBB, three U of T brain bee winners also won first place in the IBB.

The U of T competition is organized by Professor Jonathan Dostrovsky, past-Director of PIN with the help of PIN faculty member Dr. Eve DeRosa. Many thanks go to PIN graduate students Massieh Moayedi (IMS), Javeria Hashmi (IMS), Danielle Desouza (Rehabilitation Science), Beverly Francis (Physiology), Kuang Da Zhu (Psychology), Eric Tsang (IMS), Andree Cyr (Psychology), Kathleen Mak-Fan (Psychology), Vishanthan Sivagnanam (Physiology) and Leigh Botly (Psychology) for assisting with the Bee. Special thanks to Massieh Moayedi, Eric Tsang and Danielle DeSouza for giving presentations on their research. Finally, a very special thanks goes to Dr. Michael Fehlings, Director of UTNP, for his welcoming remarks for the Brain Bee.